Rip Off The Price Tag

Definition: Commit to faith with conviction

Synonyms: Drink of the cup

There was a time when all I would wear was black, and shades of gray and brown. Sometimes black was a shade itself after frequent washes. Occasionally I’d wear my favorite color turquoise or shades of blue. As I got older I wanted to change up my wardrobe and add a little color. When I tried to in the past, the item usually stayed in my closet never worn with the price tag still on it. I’d justify that I’d finally wear it someplace I’d never go.

So I tried to experiment. I would pick out clothes I wouldn’t normally steal a second glance at and try them on. I would tell myself, I didn’t have to buy them, but I would be open to at least trying them on. At first I had to have people shop with me, because I knew I wouldn’t have the eye for “different”. And then I was able to get the hang of it myself. There are times I find lots of, grays, blacks, and browns on my way to the register but I make myself put them back. Now when I buy clothes out of my comfort zone, I throw away the receipt and rip off the price tag.

Why does any of that matter?

Ripping off the price tag is [like] commitment. It’s scary. Plain and simple. How do you know if you’re really getting what you want? How do you know when what you got was a good decision or bad idea? How do you know if you’ve done enough research? What makes you feel secure about ripping off the price tag? The quality or return policy? Your attendance at a planned engagement?

When I choose to commit to something, I’m all in or not at all. When it comes to God and my faith, I have to constantly tell myself to rip off the price tag. In Luke 14:25-35 Jesus talks about the cost of being a disciple and considering what it takes to follow him.

As we are naturally sinful and selfish beings, it’s expected to question God’s calling. What’s the cause and why would I follow? What’s in it for me? What would I look like actually believing in this “so called” Jesus? These questions are normal if you’ve known a life without Christ. They’re also normal if you’ve experienced life a slave to sin.

Although I grew up in church, I’ve had a few years where no one would have known. The person that God received when I finally decided to commit was distrusting of everyone including Him, guarded, angry, bitter, selfish, low self-esteem/confidence, insecure, introverted, confused, lost, hurt, etc. So then, why would God call me? A person with such low-grade characteristics, what could he possibly do?

I built walls made with bricks of these characteristics to keep people away and God out. I was good at never letting anyone get too close. I gave just enough of me so they could experience my good and when things got real, I’d get lost and move on. Being accessible and vulnerable would leave me open for more wounds on top of scabs. I wanted no part of it.

Long story short, I got baptized and Jesus is my Lord.

This is how I rip off the price tag.

  1. Know what I want

I want to buy into God. I want to make it to eternity with Him. I want to experience the fullness of his power and the beauties of his will with every breath that I take. As God has worked on me and continues to do so, I no longer want to be that introverted, angry, insecure, guarded person. I want the person I am today to inspire others to let God have everything! I want to be used by God.

 

  1. Know my roadblock(s)

Those characteristics I mentioned keep me from living out God’s will. I used to avoid my roadblocks thinking it was the answer when in reality I was just slapping on a Band-Aid. Also, It’s too easy to point the finger. Jesus didn’t go to the cross saying, “well you flogged me and you’re a thief so I’m out.” Jesus didn’t draw a line and say, “this is as far as I’m willing to go.” Jesus defeated death! Jesus died for them and us anyway. Who am I to point the finger? Who am I to do less or give up?

 

  1. Think practically

My rule is simple: If I hesitate, or doubt, then I need to do the exact things I hesitate with or doubt (according to God’s will).

When I do hesitate or doubt, God is removed and my faith lacks. Rather than doubting and not acting on God’s Word and promises, I choose to declare God’s word through my actions. I’m not perfect at this and there are moments I do fail but I get back up and try again. It’s ripping of the price tag and buying in to what God offers and learning who God really is. It’s pulling off the Band-Aid and allowing God to heal the wounds.

I purposely put myself in situations where I have no choice but to let God move.

Know better do better. Otherwise put, once you know, you can’t go back to not knowing. What we choose to do with what God has given us is very important. As long as we move, God will work!

 

  1. Know what God can do

2 Corinthians 12:9 “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.”

On my own, I’m nothing, but with God I’m great. There’s no way I can live this life stuck on me and my “issues” when I serve the God I serve. There’s no reason I should go into the next day, the next week, the next month, the next year having the same issues when God is so great. If something hasn’t changed it’s because I haven’t done my part. God is faithful and keeps his promises and the worst thing to do (as I am guilty of) is live without a sense of urgency in obeying God.

All the comforting scriptures are great, but the realities I need are the scriptures that remind me of God’s coming wrath. One of my favorites in particular is 1 Thessalonians 5:2 for you know very well that the day of the Lord will come like a thief in a night.

The moment I say “no”, God could be coming.

Matthew 24:36 No one knows about that day or hour, not even the angels in heaven, nor the Son, but only the Father.

I didn’t know I was going to take the breath I just took. Did you?

Rip Off the Price Tag – God’s worth it!

