Father, YOU!


God I stand before you broken

I was being foolish

I did it because I thought you could take it

I’d tell myself, “You could do it”

You would prove me wrong

Father,

You made me in my mother’s womb

Body of flesh

Heart of deceit

And a mind unfit to survive the ways of the world
The many times I thought I failed myself

God I failed you

I hit rock bottom not building on rock

But sinking in sand because I didn’t listen

God I stand before you broken

 

But none of that matters because God you warned me

That taking matters into my own hands will only lead to my destruction

I was being foolish

And I’d try to convince myself that because I acknowledged you on Sunday’s you wouldn’t condemn me

 

Because I just knew the kind of God you are and,

That you wouldn’t turn your back to me

I could come to you when I needed comforting

And because you’re all powerful God,

I did it because I thought you could take it

But I was wrong

 

If I didn’t know any better I would try to deny your power in times of greatness

And let my pride take over

 

I’d tell myself, “you could do it”

Because failing is not an option

And because making you God, an option would be too hard

I’d try to go it alone

 

But little did I know

You would prove me wrong

Every time I opened the Word

 

Thank You!

 

Btw..: (This also, was written 5 years ago)

 

