When Enough is enough

(Part 1)

Water pouring down and overflowing from the glass cup
Water pouring down and overflowing from the glass cup — Image by © GoldWave/Corbis

Enough: adequate for the want or need; sufficient for the purpose or to satisfy desire (dictionary.com). As much as is bearable

  • Synonyms: Plenty, abundant, ample

Psalms: 107:8-9 Let them give thanks to the Lord for his unfailing love and his wonderful deeds for men, for he satisfies the hungry with good things.

What do I mean when I say: when Enough is enough?

I can rephrase that differently and ask: When is God (whom is enough), enough? Always.

  • God deserves
  • His love is unfailing and he performs wonderful deeds for us
  • He satisfies the hungry with good things

Point 1: God deserves thanks.

Isn’t that how we start our prayers to him? We approach God and thank him for anything and everything. Sometimes I have to think dramatic to be thankful, because “thankful” is not always my nature. Dramatic for me means stepping fully out of my comfort zone. I might come off “dramatic”, but really, think about it. How simple should it be to always thank God for anything and everything? I mean, look at nature and the colors and lines and dimensions and everything God put around us. Think about the breath you just took and how intrinsic breathing is to living- not everyone can breathe on his or her own. God formed us and wired us in such a way that we are able to live and exist in the here and now. Imagine how many times a day, a second, God saves you and you would never know. We may see what’s in front of us but it’s important to remember that we are in a spiritual battle as well. We have every reason to be thankful. So God, thank you!

